Show All Answers
The Property Appraiser and Tax Collector offices are located in the Courthouse Annex building 1 block north of the new courthouse.
For regular and express mailing: 110 N Apopka Avenue Inverness, FL 34450 When mailing, please indicate which office and division within the office to ensure timely delivery. For example: Clerk of Courts, Recording Division.
There is an automated information operator phone line for the Inverness Courthouse that can help guide you to the appropriate agency or department. This number is 352-341-6424, or toll-free from Citrus Springs and Dunnellon at 352-489-2120.
The cash bond may be returned to the depositor per court order or the bond may be seized for court fines and costs per Florida Statute F.S.903.286. Contact the Criminal Processing Department for additional information regarding your cash bond at 352-341-6424, option 4.
Upon a request from the payment recipient (obligee) a Notice of Intent to Suspend Driver's License is electronically sent to the obligor. Upon receiving the Notice, the obligor has 3 options to avoid a driver license suspension:
If the obligor fails to select 1 of these options within 20 days from the date of the Notice, the Family Law Division will mail a request to suspend to the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles. Once suspended, the driver's license cannot be reinstated until either the delinquency is paid in full or until both parties enter into a written agreement for repayment of the delinquency.
This form may be obtained at the Citrus County Clerk of Court or by mail.
A county civil case is a legal action filed in county court to settle minor legal disputes among parties where the dollar amount involved is more than more than $8,000, but does not exceed $50,000
The Clerk’s Office cannot give out any information on capiases or bench warrants. Effective 10/1/2022, all active warrants, capiases, active orders for arrest including Writs of Bodily Attachment will not be viewable to the public on the Clerk of Court’s website pursuant to Florida Rule of Judicial Administration 2.420(c)(6).
To review the details of your most recent court hearing, you may access https://scorss.citrusclerk.org/ and view the Court Order Disposition located in the case. Some cases may require you to register as a party and submit a user agreement to our office to view your case.
To obtain information on capiases or bench warrants you may try one of the alternative options below.
Did you fail to appear for a court hearing? If you did not appear for court, it is possible the Judge may have issued a capias. You can motion the Judge to request for the court date to be rescheduled and recall any potential capias issued, contact your attorney, or contact your probation officer.
At the conclusion of your case, the Clerk shall withhold from the return of a cash bond, posted on behalf of a criminal defendant by a person other than a bail bond agent, sufficient funds to pay any unpaid court fees, court costs, and criminal penalties pursuant to F.S. 903.286. If the amount posted is greater than the fees, costs, and penalties due, the balance will be refunded to the depositor by mail, generally within ten business days of the disposition of the case. You may contact our Felony Department at 352-341-6424, option 4 for more information about your bond, and to see what, if any monies are being returned to the depositor. Monies paid to a Bail Bondsman are not refundable.
Eviction is the legal procedure a landlord must follow to remove a tenant from the landlord's property. Although there may be various types of evictions, the Clerk has information and forms available for residential evictions.
You are trying to remove someone from your home and there is an agreement for rent (verbal or in writing) between you and the person you are trying to remove.
The clerk’s office can do a certified mailing in an addition to the service of documents as long as you provide envelope(s) with stamps and a copy off all documents per defendant.
The defendant has 5 working days to turn in a response.
You will need the originals of all forms to open the case and a copy per Defendant for service.
The deposit plus court registry fees must be in cash, money order, cashier's check, or a check drawn on an attorney's trust account. This deposit is to be made payable to the Citrus County Clerk of Court and Comptroller’s office and will be deposited into the court registry.
How much is the fee to deposit Money?
Pursuant to F.S. 28.24(10) (a), court registry fees apply to the deposited amount, and are calculated at 3% for the first $500 and 1.5% for the remaining amount.
With an Eviction there is some sort of lease agreement either is writing or verbal and have failed to pay rent or have not complied with lease agreement
With an Unlawful Detainer there is no lease agreement and the person overstayed their welcome and they will not go voluntarily- this is not an eviction
You are trying to remove someone from your home
You have a legal right to reside in your home (You are the owner or the legal tenant)
The person you are trying to remove does not have a legal right to reside in your home (they are not an owner or a legal tenant)
There is no agreement for rent (verbal or in writing) between you and the person you are trying to remove.
Felony charges include, but are not limited to murder, manslaughter, robbery, aggravated battery, aggravated child abuse, sexual battery, kidnapping, burglary, grand theft, battery on law enforcement officer, resisting arrest with violence, willful or aggravated fleeing and eluding a police officer, possession and/or sale of drugs, communication fraud, forgery, and passing worthless bank checks. Felonies are classified into 5 categories, based on severity of the crime: - Capital Felonies, punishable by death or life in prison. - Life Felonies, punishable by life in prison. - First Degree Felonies, punishable by up to 30 years in prison. - Second Degree Felonies, punishable by up to 15 years in prison. - Third Degree Felonies, punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
An arrest on a felony offense means that the defendant is usually booked into the county detention facility. Most felony offenses are bondable according to the approved bail schedule. Except when previously released in a lawful manner, every arrested person is taken before a judge, by electronic audiovisual device within 24 hours of arrest, for first appearance. In the case of a child in the custody of juvenile authorities, against whom an information or indictment has been filed, the child is taken for a first appearance hearing within 24 hours of the filing of the information or indictment. At your first appearance before a judge, if you have not completed a financial affidavit, you will be asked if you can afford the services of an attorney. If you cannot, the judge will question you orally regarding your financial situation, then decide whether to appoint a public defender as your attorney, provisional upon a determination of indigence by the clerk, or instruct you to seek private counsel. If you have completed a financial affidavit, and the clerk has made a determination of indigence, the public defender will be appointed, and this information will be provided to the first appearance judge. A $50 application fee will be assessed to your case whether a public defender is appointed or not. The Clerk's office receives the initial paperwork from the Citrus County Sheriff's Department after a felony arrest. The Felony Division prepares the official court file, including arrest documents as well as any release form. Copies of this information are forwarded to the State Attorney's Office. The State Attorney then reviews the case to decide whether to file formal charges. If a public defender is appointed, copies of the paperwork are also forwarded to the Public Defender's Office.
When formal charges are filed with the Clerk's office, you will be notified by mail of (1) an arraignment date if you do not have counsel, or (2) a status conference date if you do have counsel. Arraignment and/or status conference dates are usually 30-45 days after the formal charges have been filed with the Clerk. All notices will be sent to the address that was given at the time of arrest. If you bonded out of jail, your bondsman will be notified as well. Your case number, type of court event, date/time, and location of hearing will be displayed on all court notices. You can view the details of your case online. Visit the website,
At your arraignment, you will have an opportunity to complete an Affidavit of Indigent Status form, and request the appointment of the public defender. You may also, prior to arraignment, file an Affidavit of Indigent Status, with the Felony Division of the Clerk's office. A determination of indigent status will be made by a deputy clerk based on the information in the Affidavit. A $50 application fee will be assessed to your case whether a public defender is appointed or not.
If you move, it is your responsibility to notify the Clerk's Office, in writing. An Address Change form can be obtained at the Clerk's office or can be printed from here: Address Change Form (PDF)
File your written notification with the Felony Division of the Clerks Office at:110 N Apopka AvenueInverness, Fl 34450
Contact our Customer Service at 352-341-6424, Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Public access computers are available for viewing file information. The public access computers are located in Clerk's Office at: 110 N Apopka Avenue Inverness, Fl 34450 You may view your case through our online search, on the
There is a fee of $1 per page. If you need the document certified, there is an additional fee of $2.
The Felony Division will accept faxed copies of documents. The identical document in paper form, with an original signature, must be filed with the Clerk's Office. The documents can be submitted to fax number 352-341-6413.
At the conclusion of your case, the Clerk shall withhold from the return of a cash bond, posted on behalf of a criminal defendant by a person other than a bail bond agent, sufficient funds to pay any unpaid court fees, court costs, and criminal penalties. If the amount posted is greater than the fees, costs, and penalties due, the balance will be refunded to the depositor by mail, generally within ten business days of the disposition of the case. You may contact our Felony Department at 352-341-6424 for more information about your bond. Monies paid to a Bail Bondsman are not refundable.
To seal or expunge a criminal record requires court approval. For more information, visit the Seal or Expunge a Record page: Sealed and Expunged Resource
To obtain information about felony trials, you may contact our office at 352-341-6424.
Fees for filing an Appeal in a felony case are: $100 payable to the Citrus County Clerk of Circuit Court, and $300 payable to the District Court of Appeals.
Payments can be made online with a credit card. The online payment center can be used 24 hours a day to ensure timely payments. There is a service fee for using a credit card and any payment made after 4pm will be posted the following business day.
Payment by cash, check, money order or credit card can be made at our office located at :Citrus County CourthouseClerk of Court110 N Apopka AveInverness, FL 34450
Check or money order can be mailed to :Citrus County Clerk of Court110 N Apopka AveInverness, FL 34450
To make a payment by phone, please call (844) 400-6727 Monday - Friday 7am - 12am and Saturday - Sunday 9am - 6pm EST. There is a service fee for processing payments over the phone. Once you have submitted your payment, you will receive an email from the credit card vendor letting you know if the court has accepted or rejected your payment. Please be sure to have your case number ready when calling to ensure proper credit to your case.
If the filer who is drafting a document believes it contains confidential information, they should:
IF A NOTICE IS FILED BUT THE INFORMATION IS NOT CONSIDERED CONFIDENTIAL:
The 23 Types of Confidential that can be redacted:
THE DETAILED LIST CAN BE DOWNLOADED AT: www.FLClerks.com/ConfidentialRuleChange
Rule 2.420 outlines 23 categories of information that are automatically confidential in court records such as Social Security numbers, health records, bank account numbers, addresses of domestic violence victims, and juvenile delinquency records.
The amended rule affects small claims court filings and circuit and county court civil cases, except for Family Law cases, Domestic Violence Cases, cases stemming from sexual abuse, Risk Protection Orders, mental health Cases, Jimmy Ryce civil commitments, and medical malpractice cases.
Clerks and filers will retain dual responsibility to identify confidential information in all other types of filings for family, criminal, juvenile and probate cases.
CHANGES DO NOT APPLY TO: (the current standards in place will remain)
Click here for important information if you are representing yourself in court and don't have an attorney.
Click here to read about the rule changes for Legal Representatives.
Click here to read the handout if you are an Attorney
If any confidential information is included in the documents being filed a Notice of Confidential Information Within Court Filing Form must be completed at the time of filing. The Clerk of Courts shall review the filings identified as containing confidential information and notify the filer in writing within 5 days if the Clerk determines the information is not subject to confidentiality. View the Notice of Confidential Information
Results for Fingerprint processing can take up to 4 weeks.
During normal office hours, the Petition for Injunction should be filed with the Clerk of Courts office in the Citrus County Courthouse. There are currently no costs associated with injunctions.
Once the forms are completed, the Clerk of Courts Office will file the petition and take the file to the judge for review. If the judge finds merit to the petition, a Temporary Injunction or an Order Setting Hearing may be entered.
A hearing must be scheduled and the violator must be personally served with a copy of the Petition, Notice of Hearing, and the Temporary Injunction. The formal hearing will be scheduled for the next available court session. You must attend the hearing or the injunction will be dismissed.
Any injunction granted by the Court will remain in effect until modified, dissolved, or expired by the judge. Copies of all injunctions are placed on file with local law enforcement agencies.
Information may be obtained by contacting the Probate Division of the Citrus County Clerk's Office at 352-341-6424.
It is required that:
Community Service can be done at a non-profit agency of your choice.
Proof of community service must be turned into our office within 30 days of the date of the citation.
The Clerk's Office will accept proof of community service that is submitted on approved non-profit agency letterhead with the agency's address and phone number. The letterhead must list the dates and hours of work performed, and must be signed (initials are not acceptable) by an authorized individual of the non-profit organization.
Information regarding the tobacco education course can be obtained by contacting the Citrus County Health Department:
The Citrus County Health Department Tobacco Prevention Program
3700 W Sovereign Path
Lecanto, FL 34461
The minor must sign and accept a citation indicating a promise to appear before the juvenile court. In lieu of appearing in court, the minor may complete 8 hours of community service work, pay a $60 civil penalty, or participate in a cyber-safety program if such a program is locally available. The minor must satisfy any penalty within 30 days after receipt of the citation.
Payments must be made in full within 30 days of the date of the citation. Payments can be made by cash, check, money order or credit card at the Citrus County Clerk of Court's office. If mailing, please include your name and case number to ensure proper credit to your case, and send to:
A minor who fails to comply with the citation waives his or her right to contest it, and the court may impose any of the penalties identified above, or issue an order to show cause. Upon a finding of contempt, the court may impose additional age-appropriate penalties, which may include issuance of an order to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to withhold issuance of, or suspend the driver license or driving privilege of, the minor for 30 consecutive days.
If you are under the age of 21, it is against the law to do the following:
- Possess tobacco products (F.S. 569.11 (1))
- Possess Nicotine products or Nicotine dispensing devices (F.S. 569.42 (1))
- Misrepresent age for the purpose of purchasing or attempting to purchase any nicotine product or tobacco product (F.S. 569.42 (2) or F.S. 569.11 (2))
- Smoking near school property (F.S. 386.212)
Pay $30 civil penalty or attend a tobacco education courts or perform 50 community service hours.
Angela Vick, Clerk of Court and Comptroller
110 N Apopka Avenue
Inverness, FL 34450
You may also pay by phone with a debit or credit card by calling 352-341-6424. Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express are accepted. A service fee will be applied by the credit card vendor. Payment plans are not available unless ordered by the court.
3700 W Sovereign PathLecanto, FL 34461
Although the Health Department will send a copy of your certificate to the Clerk's office, the responsibility ultimately falls upon the defendant to be sure that the certificate is received in a timely manner.
The juvenile cited must submit a written request to the Clerk of Court regarding your intent to contest the violation within thirty (30) days of the date of the violation. You will then be notified of a date and time to appear in County Court.
- An involuntary Baker Act admission occurs upon a finding by a court that a person is mentally ill and, because of the mental illness, he/she has refused voluntary placement for treatment or is unable to determine whether placement is necessary. - They are incapable of living alone or with help, and without treatment is likely to suffer from neglect or refuse to care for him/herself, or there is a substantial likelihood in the near future that he/she will inflict serious bodily harm on him/herself or others as evidenced by recent behavior. - All less restrictive treatment alternatives are not appropriate.
Persons who have personal knowledge of the behavior of the individual, should give sworn testimony. The individual believed to be suffering from mental illness should be in Citrus County. The petitioner(s) must have observed the behavior and must have talked to the individual about obtaining a voluntary examination within a few days. The Clerk's Office will assist with the necessary paperwork.Because paperwork must be processed, the petitioners should visit the Clerk's Office well before 5 p.m. The petitioners should bring a valid photo identification of themselves, two witnesses (if possible), and should be prepared to provide a specific address for the individual.
The order will be taken to the Civil Process Division of the Citrus County Sheriff’s Office, which will take the person into custody and to a receiving facility. The person is examined at the facility and the staff and doctors there determine any further action. The receiving facility is LifeStream Citrus County Access Center located at:6 Regina Blvd Ste 12Beverly Hills FL 34465
The person will then be transported to the LifeStream facility in Leesburg located at: 2020 Tally Rd, Leesburg FL 34748
The Citrus County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller's office is located at
110 N Apopka Avenue Inverness Fl, 34450
Our office accepts cash, personal check, cashiers check, money orders and credit cards. There will be a service fee from the credit card vendor. Credit card payments can be made by calling nCourt at 844-400-6727 Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 12 a.m. and Saturday through Sunday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. EST. Payments can also be made online at the
The Citrus County Clerks Office can accept the following forms of payment
Make the check or money order payable to, Clerk of Court.
Costs for copies are $1 per page for regular copies and an additional $2 for each document to be certified.
It is your responsibility to notify the Clerk's Office in writing if your address changes. This may be done in person at:
Citrus County Courthouse110 N Apopka AvenueInverness, FL 34450
An Address Change for can be obtained here Change of Address Form (PDF) and mailed to our office at the address above.. Please include your case number and name with any correspondence.
For information contact our Customer Service Department at 352-341-6424. You may also view your case online. You can view various topics such as:
Click Here to access SCORSS to view case information.
To seal or expunge a criminal record requires court approval. You can also visit the Seal or Expunge a Record page for more information. Sealing and Expunging Cases
To obtain the application and instructions on sealing or expunging a Citrus County misdemeanor case, you will need to visit
Criminal records can be found by visiting the
At the conclusion of your case, the Clerk shall withhold from the return of a cash bond, posted on behalf of a criminal defendant by a person other than a bail bond agent, sufficient funds to pay any unpaid court fees, court costs, and criminal penalties. If the amount posted is greater than the fees, costs, and penalties due, the balance will be refunded to the depositor by mail, generally within ten business days of the disposition of the case.
You may contact our Felony Department at 352-341-6424 for more information about your bond. Monies paid to a Bail Bondsman are not refundable.
To set up reoccurring payments from Citepayusa.com, after selecting a case in your payment plan
On the top of the screen under the current payment plan section, you will see:
Select the Click here to set up automatic payments for your payment plan(s)
Simply click and follow the instructions, you will be registering to set up a user account with your email address. Once you select your username and password, you will be directed to manage the account. Click on the Manage button to advance to the Add autopay button and enter your card information.
This screen also allows you to see when the next payment is due or the history of your payments.
If you have trouble, there is a help button to call or email CitePayUSA.
The amount of the payment per month varies by case and is determined by monthly income. Monthly payments are required and will be due the same date each month coinciding with the payment plan inception date. Amounts in addition to scheduled monthly payment will be applied to the balance.
Each case would be a separate payment plan; however, plans can be merged into one monthly payment.
You will first need to locate your case number on our Secured Courts Online Record Search System (SCORSS) located here. You can search by your case number or by your name. Once you have accessed your case, scroll to the financial section and select Payment Plan Application.
You will need to submit a separate application for each case you are requesting a payment plan for.
Our online payment application process will confirm via email that a payment plan has been set up, the $25.00 administrative fee must be paid for the plan to be activated.
There is a one-time $25.00 payment plan application fee that is due at the time of sign up. This fee is per case. If there are any late fees on your case, they are also due at the time of sign up.
Your monthly payment is based on the amount that is provided when you are filling out the payment plan application. Due to individual situations, we are unable to provide any estimates on payment amounts prior to the application being filled out.
Please submit a payment plan application. We will review your case and go over what options are available to you.
You can still fill out a personal data form and return the application to our office. Please note that if you have an issue that is time sensitive, you may need to visit our office for faster service.
You may submit an application for a payment plan, the clearance form or affidavit of reinstatement will be issued upon payment of the service fee and payment plan fee and then mailed to the address provided. If you need it immediately you may visit the clerk’s office.
Probate is a legal process through which the assets of a deceased person are distributed to the heirs or beneficiaries. The Court oversees the estate to make sure debts are disposed of and proper distribution is made.
A will is a document executed by a person which disposes of his/her property after death. It generally names a personal representative to administer the estate. The custodian of the will must deposit the original will with the Clerk of the Circuit Court, within 10 days after receiving information that the person is deceased. The custodian must supply the person's date of death to the Clerk upon deposit of the will. The date of death is reflected on the death certificate, obituary notice, or a cover letter written by the depositor.
Florida Rules of Probate Procedure 5.030 says, "Required; Exception. Every guardian and every personal representative, unless the personal representative remains the sole interested person, shall be represented by an attorney admitted to practice in Florida. A guardian or personal representative who is an attorney admitted to practice in Florida may represent himself or herself as guardian or personal representative."
There are 3 basic types of proceedings for administering the decedent's estate:
The property will be distributed in accordance with Florida law. Please seek an attorney for guidance through the Probate process.
It will be necessary for an attorney to petition the Court to appoint a personal representative to administer the estate.
Probate proceedings are initiated with the filing of a Petition by an interested person asking to be appointed personal representative and/or distribute property depending on size and complexity of property. The Petition is normally prepared by an attorney. The appointed person will be responsible for the estate until all bills are paid and the balance of the estate is distributed to the rightful beneficiaries.
The Court will enter an Order either allowing or disallowing the release of the assets. The Clerk will send 1 copy of the Order Approving Disposition or Order Denying to the petitioner via US or electronic mail.
Please refer to Florida Statute 735.301 to determine if you are eligible for this type of process. This form may not be used when real property is involved. If you are unsure as to whether this process applies to your situation, you may wish to contact an attorney. The required forms and documentation for a Disposition of Personal Property Without Administration are as follows:
The filing fee is due at the time the Petition is filed. There is also a charge for one certified copy of the Order of Disposition of Personal Property without Administration which is generally required by the institution holding the assets.
For more information view the Disposition of Personal Property Without Administration (PDF).
Carefully review the letter to ensure all requested documents are filed in the case. Failure to provide all requested documents will result in delaying the outcome of the case.
To schedule a hearing with Judge Youmans, please contact her judicial assistant at firstname.lastname@example.org To schedule a hearing with Judge Fritton, please contact his judicial assistant at email@example.com
Discover information regarding this process by visiting the Clerk’s E-Filing Portal page or the ePortal
In addition to any other sentencing, the court may enter a restitution order requiring the defendant to pay the victim(s) of the offense. The State Attorney's Office employs a Victim/Witness staff to offer assistance to the victim. Additional information can be found by calling the State Attorney's Office at 352-341-6670 or by visiting their website State Attorney's Office.
The Crimes Compensation Trust Fund (CCTF) assists victim(s) of crime in securing restitution, their location is:Office of the Attorney GeneralThe Capitol PL-01Tallahassee, FL 32399Phone: 850-414-3300
If you do not know an attorney, you should contact the Lawyer Referral Service listed in the yellow pages of the local telephone directory. If you are unable to afford an attorney, you should contact the legal aid office in your area or ask your local bar association for a referral.
A small claims case is a legal action filed in county court to settle minor legal disputes among parties where the dollar amount involved is $8,000 or less, excluding costs, interest, and attorney fees.
Other fees are required for service on the parties sued and are dependent on the type of service selected. Filing fees may be made by check or money order. The Clerk's Office also accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover cards. A current Schedule of Service Charges is available in any Clerk's Office location or visit the Fee Schedule page.
Copies of any contracts, notes, leases, receipts, or other evidence in support of the claim must be furnished for each person sued and the court. The originals must be brought to the first court appearance. A full explanation of the reason for the small claims action will be necessary.
At the pretrial conference mediation is ordered if both parties to the dispute are present and unable to settle their dispute. A mediator acts to encourage and facilitate the resolution of a dispute between two or more parties. Mediation is an informal and non-adversarial process with the objective of helping the disputing parties reach a mutually acceptable and voluntary agreement. In mediation, decision-making authority rests with the parties. Mediation is confidential.
If the dispute cannot be settled at the pre-trial conference, a trial date will be scheduled by the court. The parties must appear at the trial with all witnesses and documentation. At the trial, both parties will have an opportunity to explain the case to the judge, ask the other party any questions concerning the claim, present documentation as discussed at the pre-trial conference, and call witnesses.
Reasons the Judge will require mediation:
Yes, a trial by jury may be requested by the person filing the Small Claims case, upon written demand at the time the case is filed. The person being sued may request a jury trial within 5 days after service of notice or at the pre-trial conference.
The judge orders the fines and court costs to be paid in full within 5 business days after the court order or to enroll into a payment plan. Citation amounts are to be paid within 30 days after your citation was issued. Your driver's license may also be submitted for suspension for failure to pay.
If the amount remains unpaid after 90 days, the Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller's Office shall send the remaining balance to a collections agency pursuant to Florida Statutes 28.246 and 938.29. Additional fees of 15% to the collections agency will be incurred at the time of submission.
The collections agency will notify you of the referral and will collect the amount owed. Citrus County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller's Office would not be able to clear the suspension of your driver's license until the full balance of your court fines/costs and the fees to the collections agency are paid in full.
The collections agency may file with credit bureaus those accounts that remain unpaid. Failure to pay your court costs and/or traffic citations may affect your credit rating.
Section 318.21, Florida Statutes, entitled "Disposition of civil penalties by a county court," shows the distributions of all civil penalties.
If you have any additional questions, please contact the Citrus County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller's Office at 352-341-6424.
To obtain Child Support writs or bench warrant information you may try one of the alternative options below.
A person charged with a moving or non-moving traffic violation may be eligible to attend driver improvement school. A person charged with a violation involving driver licenses, vehicle registration, proof of insurance, or leaving a child under the age of 6 unattended in a vehicle is not eligible. Persons holding a CDL license are not eligible to attend driver improvement school.
There are two benefits. One, no points will be assessed against your driver license. Two, attending driver improvement school to satisfy the violation will be entered on your driver history record as an "adjudication withheld."
Whether you attend a driver improvement school in Citrus County or in another Florida county, you must present proof of completion of the driver improvement school to the Citrus County Clerk's Office within 60 calendar days of the date you elected the option. Completion certificates will not be accepted after the expiration of the 60 days.
If you fax, mail, or submit your proof by email, it is your responsibility to confirm that the document has been received within the required timeline. Otherwise additional fees and points will be assessed for non-compliance. (You may use the clerk's online court records search to verify that it is docketed). Our contact information is as follows:
Address: 110 N Apopka Ave, Inverness Fl. 34450
Defined in Rules of Judicial Administration 2.520:8 1/2 x 11 inchesPortrait orientation300 DPI (for a scanned document)Black and white not color (for a scanned document)3x3 inch space at the top right corner on the first page1x3 inch space at the top right corner on each subsequent page1 inch marginCan be no larger than 50 MBDo not password protect documents
Please be aware that it may take up to three days to process the filing and become available in the Clerk's case maintenance system. If there is a hearing scheduled within the three day processing period the filing may not get processed and into court case file in time for the hearing.
Please email us.
The ePortal provides access to filings "in progress" only. Once the filing is accepted and filed in the local Case Maintenance System, this becomes the official court record just like the current paper process. Original filings are retained at the portal for a brief period and then removed.
Access to filed documents is provided through Secured Courts Online Record Search System (SCORSS).
For technical support, including password resets, contact the Florida Association of Court Clerks' Services Group at 850-577-4609 or via email. For assistance with a filing, such as an inquiry regarding a filing or a case, please contact our office at 352-341-6424 or through our email.
Pursuant to Florida Rule of Judicial Administration 2.510, an out-of-state attorney wishing to appear in a Florida case must be granted permission by the court where the case is pending by filing a Motion to Appear Pro Hac Vice (PHV). A copy of the Motion is to be sent to The Florida Bar. The Florida Bar will send a letter to the movant with their PHV number.
The attorney must use the PHV number to register with the Portal and e-file future pleadings. Until the attorney receives their PHV number, all pleadings will be e-filed by the local attorney designated in the Motion. If an attorney has a pending case and needs a PHV number, a number will be assigned. For questions on obtaining a PHV number, call The Florida Bar at 850-561-5840.
You may contact the Customer Call Center located in the Inverness Courthouse. Here deputy clerks can direct your call to the appropriate department or provide the direct number. The Call Center can be reached at 352-341-6424.
If you have a question about a check issued by the Clerk of Court that you have received, contact the Clerk's Bookkeeping Division at 352-341-6424.
The cash bond may be returned to the depositor per court order or the bond may be seized for court fines and costs per Florida Statute F.S.903.286. Contact the Criminal Processing Department for additional information regarding your cash bond at 352-341-6424, option 4.
Any adult resident of Florida can serve as a guardian, as can a close relative of the person who does not live in Florida. Persons who have been convicted of a felony or who are incapable of carrying out the duties of a guardian cannot be appointed.
A guardian of the property must inventory the property, invest it prudently, use it for the person's support, and account for it by filing detailed annual reports with the court. In addition, the guardian must obtain court approval for certain financial transactions. A guardian of the person may exercise those rights that have been removed from the person and delegated to the guardian, such as providing medical, mental, and personal care services and determining the place and kind of residential setting best suited for the person. The guardian must present to the court annually a detailed plan for the person's care.
Every guardian shall be represented by an attorney admitted to practice in Florida. A guardian advocate is not required to be represented by an attorney unless otherwise required by law or the court. Guardians are usually required to furnish a bond and may be required to complete a court-approved training program. The Clerk of Court reviews all annual reports of guardians of the person and property, and presents them to the court for approval. The court may remove a guardian who does not properly carry out his or her responsibilities.
An incapacitated person is one who has been judicially determined to lack the capacity necessary to manage at least some of his or her property or who cannot provide for his or her own health and safety.
Both parents or a surviving parent may make and file with the Clerk of Court a written declaration naming a guardian of the child's person or property to serve if both parents die or become incapacitated. A guardian may also be designated in a will in which the child is a beneficiary.
You may apply for a position at the Clerk's office by filling out an online Application. Click the link below to view available positions and to fill out the Online Application.
Applications are reviewed by the Clerk's Department Directors who select applicants for testing and interview. If you have been selected, Human Resources will call you to schedule testing or interview at a time convenient to you.
Application review begins as soon as the job is posted for newly submitted applications and those on file requested for review by the applicant. Positions remain open until filled by a qualified candidate. This process can take as few as two weeks or will be extended until the right candidate is selected.
One application is sufficient for listing all positions within the Clerk's Office that you are applying for.
According to the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA), internal auditing is an independent, objective assurance and consulting activity designed to add value and improve an organization’s operations. It helps an organization accomplish its objectives by bringing a systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of risk management, control, and governance processes.
There are many different types of audits. An audit may be of one or more of the following types:
Internal controls are an organization’s methods and procedures that safeguard the organization’s assets, promote operational efficiency, check the accuracy and reliability of accounting data, and encourage adherence to prescribed policies and procedures. Effective internal control systems are designed to ensure 1) that resources are used in accordance with laws, regulations, and policies and 2) that resources are safeguarded against waste, loss, and misuse.
No. Making internal controls infallible would be cost prohibitive and make business processes unreasonably cumbersome. Internal controls are designed to provide reasonable assurance regarding the achievement of objectives in the effectiveness and efficiency of operations, reliability of financial reporting, and compliance with laws and regulations. Even well designed controls are susceptible to collusion and the failure of supervisors to enforce or monitor the controls.
The audit reports are issued to the auditee, Board of County Commissioners, the Clerk of the Circuit Court, and the Finance Director. Upon presentation at the Commissioners meeting, the audit report becomes a public document and is available to the media and the general public. Audits are posted on the Clerk's website,
Internal auditors work in the IAD and are employees of the Clerk. They support management and by performing audit activities that address risks and controls at all levels across the BOCC and the Clerk’s office.
External auditors are non-employees of the Clerk and they include the appointed audit firm to conduct the annual audit for the County. There may be situations where the IAD will contract an external audit firm to perform an audit. In this situation, the external auditor will function in an internal audit capacity, with oversight provided by the Chief Audit Officer of IAD.
Improper activities of employees may be reported directly to the Chief Audit Officer, or by filing a report with Red Flag Reporting at 877-647-3335, or online at www.redflagreporting.com.
The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners defines occupational fraud as “the use of one’s occupation for personal enrichment through the deliberate misuse or misapplication of the employing organization’s resource or assets.” Elements present for an employee to commit fraud include opportunity, a low chance of being caught, rationalization by the individual that the action is not a crime, and justification of the ends versus the means.
Unless they are performing an investigative audit, auditors are not specifically searching for the existence of fraud. During a routine audit they are more concerned with ensuring that adequate systems of internal control exist to reduce the risk of fraud. However, procedures are performed that are meant to detect potential fraud and to assess your area’s exposure to fraud related risk.
Suspected fraud, waste or abuse, or unethical behavior may be reported to the Internal Auditor at 352-341-6424. Identity of caller will be kept anonymous. The intent of Florida Statute 112.3187 (Whistle-blowers Act) is to prevent agencies or independent contractors from taking retaliatory action against any person who discloses information to an appropriate agency alleging improper use of governmental office, gross waste of funds, or any other abuse or gross neglect of duty on the part of an agency, public officer, or employee. You may also submit the report through the RedFlag Reporting. To file report you must use this client code, citrusres. Reports can be made anytime through the toll-free number 1-877-647-3335.
Please refer to our Most Common Erros on PLAN and ACCOUNTING Submissions page.
You will need to bring picture identification and an address/location for the person (who must reside or currently be located in this county). You should arrive at the Clerk’s Office prior to 4 p.m. to allow time for the processing of the paperwork and routing to the judge. The Clerk’s Office closes at 5 p.m.
The court will review the petition and decided whether or not to enter an order authorizing the involuntary stabilization and assessment of the person. If authorized, the order will be brought to the Civil Process Division of the Citrus County Sheriff’s Office and the person will be served and transported to the
The receiving facility is LifeStream Citrus County Access Center located at:6 Regina Blvd Ste 12Beverly Hills FL 34465
The person will then be transported to the LifeStream facility in Leesburg located at: 2020 Tally Rd., Leesburg, FL 34748
A free public service offered by the Citrus County Clerk’s Office that can help you detect documents recorded with your name in the Clerk’s Official Records that may be fraudulent.
The name you choose to subscribe (business name, maiden name, married name, etc) is the only criteria being monitored. If you have a common name, you may get multiple alerts since it doesn’t distinguish one name from another. If you have multiple variations of your names, such as Chris and Christopher, you may want to subscribe to both, but again, you may get multiple alerts for others with your common name.
Once you sign up for the service you will receive an alert, from that day forward, of any document recorded with your name in the Official Records. The alert you receive by email will contain a link to the document, along with the recorded date and name.
Yes, in the event a document is recorded with your name, you will receive an alert.
Anyone can sign up for the Recording Activity Notifications subscription service by clicking here to get started.
No, this service only alerts its subscribers of documents being recorded in the Citrus County Official Records.
Many counties are looking into the possibility of providing this service to their citizens. You may contact the Clerk of the Court in the county of interest to see if they offer such service.
There is nothing that will distinguish one name from another. Therefore, a person with a common name, like John Doe, will receive multiple alerts.
Fraud can be committed in a number of ways by recording documents in public records. For example, someone can create a fraudulent document that will deed your home to them and then record that document in Official Records.
The alert email will provide you a link to view the document.
Per Florida Statute, some document types are not accessible on your personal device. These document types stem from probate cases, domestic relation cases, and/or final judgments. Please visit or contact the Clerk of Court and Comptroller’s office during normal business hours and we will be happy to assist you with more information about a document.
Forms & Packets|Citrus County Clerk of Courts, FL (citrusclerk.org)https://www.citrusclerk.org/208/Forms-Packets
Contact the Citrus County Sheriff’s Office at (352) 726-4488 and/or your attorney or legal advisor.
Neither the Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller, Property Appraiser, or Tax Collector offices can take legal action on your behalf to reverse the fraudulent activity.
No document can be removed from the Official Records without a court order. Therefore, citizens are urged to contact local law enforcement and/or an attorney for prompt, appropriate action if fraud is suspected.
The Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller must record all documents that meet the requirements outlined in the Florida Statues. The Clerk has no authority to refuse to record a properly prepared document, even if it may be fraudulent.
You may contact the Clerk’s Office’s Information Technology Department via the Contact Us page if you’d like them to look into this further.
Yes, email addresses and names used in registrations for the Recording Notification Service are subject to public disclosure per Florida public records law.
The only information you need to provide is your first and last name along with your email address. Nothing else is needed when signing up for the service.
Typically it takes up to two weeks for the minutes to be completed and approved by the Board of County Commissioners. Audio and/or video of meetings from August 22, 2006 to the present can be found on the Meeting Portal.
Meeting minutes for the following Advisory Boards can be obtained by contacting the Board Recorder:
The minutes are done in paraphrase form and are not verbatim. The audio and/or video of meetings from August 22, 2006 to the present are available on the Meeting Portal.
A copy of the audio/video of Board of County Commissioners meetings from August 22, 2006 to the present can be downloaded at no charge on the Meeting Portal, Media page. To obtain a copy on CD, contact the Board Recorder; the cost for this service is $6.
Meetings can be viewed live by streaming from the Meeting Portal.
Public Speaker Forms (“Green Sheets”) are available in the meeting room lobby and at the podium at all public meetings; complete the form and hand to the Board Recorder before the meeting or when you approach to speak.
Pursuant to Ordinance Number 2017-A11, Section 1, to speak on behalf of an organization, please submit written authorization from the organization to the Board Recorder that is signed by the organization’s President or Secretary. The authorization will be effective for one year unless amended or revoked. A current listing of Speaker Authorizations can be found on the Meeting Portal.
Images of Emergency Orders issued by the Board of County Commissioners can be found on the Meeting Portal.
The Board Recorder may be reached at (352) 341-6455 or by email at CommissionRecords@citrusclerk.org.
Please contact our office at (352) 341-6424, option 2, if one party is unable to be present at the time of application.
No. A blood test for marriages in the state of Florida is not required.
Florida law requires a 3-day waiting period between application and the effective date of a marriage license. The waiting period can be waived if applicants show proof of having recently attended at least 4 hours of marriage counseling with a provider registered with the Clerk's Office. If both parties are out of state residents, there is no waiting period.
No. Pursuant to Florida Statute 741.04(1), the clerk of the circuit court may not issue a license to marry to any person younger than 18 years of age, unless
Only if that parent provides proof of sole legal custody of the minor or proof that the other parent is deceased.
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the effective date of the license. The marriage license must be returned to the Clerk's Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
If received in the mail, a certified copy is mailed to the customer to the address provided at the time of application. If the marriage license is hand-delivered to our office, the certified copy is issued immediately.
One certified copy is provided as part of the marriage license fee, there is no additional cost. Additional certified copies may be obtained for a fee of $3 each, or an electronic certified copy may be purchased for $9.00 (please visit www.clerkecertify.com).
There is no citizenship requirement to obtain a marriage license.
No. To renew your marriage vows, please consult your clergyman, chaplain, other religious adviser or personal counselor.
No, the documents are not required. However, the application does require you to note how your last marriage ended (divorce, annulment or death) and the exact date (month, day and year).
Passport applications are available for printing online from the Department of State website travel.state.gov. Paper versions are available at the Clerk Annex located at 120 N Montgomery Ave., Inverness, Florida 34450, as well as the five Citrus County Libraries (for location addresses please visit www.citruslibraries.org).
The Department of State's Bureau of Consular Affairs, Office of Passport Services/Customer Service, designates many post offices, clerks of court, public libraries and other state, county, township, and municipal government offices to accept passport applications on its behalf.
Appear in person at theClerk Annex120 N Montgomery Ave Inverness, FL 34450Phone: 352-341-6424
DS-11 Applications are accepted every weekday, beginning at 8:00 a.m. The last passport is accepted at 4:00 p.m. For those citizens needing passport services after 4:00 p.m., please call our office for accommodations.
Appointments are encouraged to better serve you. You may schedule your appointment using the link https://checkin.citrusclerk.org/ or by calling (352) 341-6424, option 2.
Applications should be filled out completely (except for signature) and received by 4:00 p.m. for processing.
Yes! Passport photo services are available at the Clerk Annex location 120 N Montgomery Ave., Inverness, Florida 34450. Photos are $12.00 each.
No. The U.S. Department of State does not allow the submission of the DS-82 renewal passport application to acceptance agents. Instructions for submitting the renewal applications are available on the application itself and on the travel.state.gov website.
The DS-82 renewal application form is available online from the Department of State website travel.state.gov. Paper copies are available for pick-up at the Clerk’s Annex, located at 120 N Montgomery Ave., Inverness, Florida 34450, or at one of the five Citrus County Libraries (for locations please visit www.citruslibraries.org).
The Deputy Clerks at the Clerk’s Annex can take your passport photo.
Click on the link below for “How To” videos and additional Frequently Asked Questions
The composition of the VAB includes two members of the Citrus County Board of County Commissioners, one member of the Citrus County School Board, one citizen member appointed by the County Commissioners who owns homesteaded property within the County, and one citizen member elected by the School Board who owns a business occupying commercial space within the school district.
If you are appealing the valuation of your property, you must file a petition to the VAB with the Clerk of the Circuit Court within the statutory deadline (any time during the taxable year on or before the 25th day following the mailing of the TRIM (Truth in Millage) Notice. You should receive the TRIM notice from the Property Appraiser's Office in late summer.
Petition forms are available at the Property Appraiser's office and through the Department of Revenue (DOR). A non-refundable filing fee of $15 per parcel of property (identified by an Alternate Key number) is required when the petition is filed. For more information view the
The Clerk to the VAB will schedule and mail a written notice regarding the date, time, and location for you to appear before a special magistrate who will hear testimony and consider evidence presented by you and the Property Appraiser's representative.
Please refer to the Department of Revenue's rules and procedures for information regarding Exchange of Evidence.
For detailed information regarding VAB rules and procedures please refer to the